Arts Council of Wales | New members appointed to Arts Council of Wales
Back to all news

New members appointed to Arts Council of Wales

Housing, Regeneration and Heritage Minister Huw Lewis has announced the appointment of five board members to the Arts Council of Wales. 30 Mar 2012

New members appointed to Arts Council of Wales

Michael Griffiths, Melanie Hawthorne, Dr Lesley Hodgson, Marian Wyn Jones and Andrew Miller’s terms of appointment will commence on 1 April 2012 and will last for three years. The posts are all unpaid.

As board members their role will include setting objectives for the Council and ensuring these objectives, and those set out by the Welsh Government, are met. The Board, with the Welsh Government, also has the power to appoint a Chief Executive should the need arise.

Other duties include participating in the Council’s activities whilst ensuring value for money and efficiency.

Huw Lewis said: "These appointees demonstrate professional experience and a personal interest in the arts. I am delighted to appoint them to the Arts Council Board and I look forward to working with them and the current members over the coming years."

Michael Griffiths is an educational consultant and former Headteacher. He sits on a number of Welsh Government committees.

Melanie Hawthorne is Creative Development Officer for the University of Glamorgan and has worked across many arts disciplines, including as a board member for the Welsh Screen Commission.

Dr Lesley Hodgson is co-founder of Glamorgan GATES, a Community Arts Project in Merthyr Tydfil, and is Vice Chair of The Merthyr Tydfil Global Village Festival.

Marian Wyn Jones is the former Head of Centre for the BBC in North Wales and has a journalistic career spanning three decades. She currently works as a Media Consultant and is a member of number of public bodies and charitable trusts.

Andrew Miller is Head of Creative Programming at the Royal Welsh College of Music and previously worked for the Arts Council England. He has also enjoyed a long career in television as a presenter, producer and director.

Dai Smith, Chair of the Arts Council of Wales, said: "It is always sad when the term of office of much valued and experienced Arts Council members as my Vice Chair Dr Ian Rees, Robin Morrison and Deborah Wilcox finally expires.

"They have all been fantastic advocates and ambassadors for the arts in Wales. Their contribution to the detailed work of the Council has been invaluable and we wish them well in their future endeavors.

"But as we thank them, and soon say goodbye to them, we will be welcoming five new members whose qualities of expertise and passionate enthusiasm so impressed in their application and at interview. Their skills and expertise will help us to cement the aim of Arts Council of Wales and the Welsh Government that all communities in Wales are able to benefit from and have access to high quality arts."

We look forward to greeting them officially as Council Members at our Council meeting in May."

For further information please contact Sian James on 02920 441344 or email

Registered Charity Number 1034245